Wes Moore decisively wins straw poll at Western Maryland Democratic Summit

Unparalleled support in crowded field extends into Mountain Maryland

Latest win demonstrates unrivaled momentum and organization for Moore campaign

(FLINTSTONE, MD – May 14, 2022) – Democratic Candidate for Maryland Governor Wes Moore captured a decisive victory in the Western Maryland Democratic Summit Straw Poll today at the Rocky Gap Casino Resort in Allegany County.

“I am so grateful for the support of the voters at the Western Maryland Democratic Summit! This coalition is deep and it is broad, there is not a single part of the state where we are not going to compete, and I am excited to work with leaders in Western Maryland to move our state forward,” Wes Moore said. “We have a vision that is clearly resonating with voters across Maryland who are excited about the opportunity we have to grow our economy, create jobs, ensure public safety, and make Maryland a place where we leave no one behind.”

The annual summit hosted by the Western Maryland Democratic PAC, organized by democratic leaders in Allegany, Carroll, Frederick, Garrett, and Washington counties brings together leaders from across Maryland. Its straw poll is considered a major indicator of who voters are connecting with, and which campaign has the momentum and organization to win.

The full results of the Western Maryland Democratic Summit straw poll were:

Wes Moore: 153

Doug Gansler: 71

Tom Perez: 48

John King: 45

Peter Franchot: 10

Ashwani Jain: 5

Rushern Baker: 2

Jon Baron: 2

Jerome Segal: 1

Moore’s decisive victory in a crowded field is a testament to the campaign’s momentum, ability to organize, and clear path to victory.

In recent weeks, the campaign has earned the endorsements of leaders including U.S. House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (MD-5), Speaker of the House of Delegates Adrienne Jones (District 10), former Democratic nominee for Governor civil rights leader Ben Jealous; and more.

Wes Moore and his running mate former Del. Aruna Miller’s rapidly growing coalition includes endorsements from U.S. House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (MD-5), former Governor and former Prince George’s County Executive Parris Glendening; former Democratic nominee for Governor Ben Jealous; Prince George’s County Executive Angela Alsobrooks; Anne Arundel County Executive Steuart Pittman; Former Baltimore County Executive Don Mohler; Former Baltimore County Executive Jim Smith; Prince George’s County State’s Attorney Aisha Braveboy; Sen. Guy Guzzone (District 13); Sen. Antonio Hayes (District 40); Sen. Cheryl Kagan (District 17); Sen. Delores Kelley (District 10); Sen. Obie Patterson (District 26); Former Sen. Nathaniel McFadden (District 45); Del. Marlon Amprey (District 40); Del. Vanessa Atterbeary (District 13); Del. Ben Barnes (District 21); Del. Kumar Barve (District 17); Del. Lisa Belcastro (District 11); Del. Regina Boyce (District 43); Del. Chanel Branch (District 45); Del. Frank Conaway, Jr. (District 40); Del. Jessica Feldmark (District 13); Del. Terri Hill (District 12); Del. Anne Kaiser (District 14); Del. Cheryl Landis (District 23B); Majority Leader Del. Eric Luedtke (District 14); Del. Roxane Prettyman (District 44A); Del. Mike Rogers (District 32); Del. Sandy Rosenberg (District 41); Del. Emily Shetty (District 18); Geraldine Valentino-Smith (District 23A); Del. and Baltimore City Delegation Chair Stephanie Smith (District 45); Del. Melissa Wells (District 40); Del. Nicole Williams (District 22); Former Del. Gene Counihan (District 15); Baltimore County Councilmember Cathy Bevins (District 6); Bowie Mayor Pro Tem & Councilmember Adrian Boafo; Baltimore City Councilmember John Bullock (District 9); Hagerstown City Councilmember Tiara Burnett; Morningside Mayor Bennard Cann; Charles County Commissioner Thomasina Coates (District 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Zeke Cohen (District 1); Baltimore City Councilmember Mark Conway (District 4); Baltimore City Councilmember Eric Costello (District 11); Bowie City Councilmember Michael Esteve (District 11); Montgomery County Councilmember Will Jawando (At Large); Baltimore County Council Chair and Councilmember Julian Jones (District 4); Hagerstown Mayor Emily Keller; Hagerstown City Councilmember Tekesha Martinez; District Heights Mayor Johnathan Medlock; Former Gaithersburg Councilmember Yvette Monroe; Baltimore City Councilmember Phylicia Porter (District 10); Baltimore City Councilmember Odette Ramos (District 14); Somerset Mayor Jeffrey Slavin; Riverdale Park Councilmember Richard Smith (Ward 1); Laurel Councilmember Brencis Smith (Ward 2); Baltimore City Councilmember Robert Stokes (District 12); Baltimore City Councilmember James Torrence (District 7); Forest Heights Mayor Calvin Washington; former Maryland Democratic Party chairs Michael Cryor and Susie Turnbull; Former Chair of the Montgomery County Planning Board Royce Hanson; The Baltimore Fire Officers Union Local 964; Collective PAC, one of the nation’s largest organizations working to build Black representation in government; Impact, a leading national organization supporting the Indian American and South Asian community; Ironworkers Local #5, a progressive union representing over 1,000 ironworkers; The Maryland State Education Association; and VoteVetsPAC, one of the top veterans advocacy organizations in the country.