Rules Regarding 7th Congressional District in 2020

From the State Board of Elections (SBE)

Frequently Asked Questions on Maryland’s 7th Congressional District Special Election


  1. Where is Maryland’s 7th Congressional District?

Maryland’s 7th Congressional District covers portions of the CIty of Baltimore, Baltimore County, and Howard County, respectively. The special election is being held to fill the remainder of the term of the 116th Congress due to the passing of Representative Elijah Cummings in October 2019.


  1. What is the date for the special general election for Maryland’s 7th Congressional District? 

This date remains unchanged: Tuesday, April 28, 2020. The only change is that all ballots will be cast by mail.


  1. How will 7th district voters get their mail-in ballots?

SBE will mail absentee ballots to all 7th district voters who are eligible to vote in the special general election.


  1. When will absentee ballots be sent?

Ballots will be sent starting later this month.


  1. What is the deadline by which voters must mail in their ballots?

Voted ballots must be postmarked on or before April 28, 2020.