Rasheed Aziz of Frozen Desert Sorbet & CityWide Youth Development Among Honorees at Black Wall Street PORT COVINGTON, 8.26.16

By Bmorenews Staff

(BALTIMORE – August 25, 2016) – The next Bmorenews.com business networking event, Black Wall Street PORT COVINGTON, is Friday, August 26, 2016 from 3 to 5 pm at The City Garage, 101 W. Dickman Street, Baltimore, MD 21230.

RSVP to http://blackwallstreetportcovington.eventbrite.com.

We celebrate black entrepreneurs and professionals as well as the people who support them regardless of race. Founded in 2011 in Washington, D.C., we have since honored hundreds in 5 US cities. We call it The ORIGINAL Black Wall Street SERIES *NYC *MD *DC *ATL *NOLA.

One of tomorrow’s honorees is Rasheed Aziz. Originally from Eatonville Florida, Rasheed Aziz moved to Baltimore, MD in 2006. He is the founder of CityWide Youth Development (CYD), a non-profit corporation that was established in Baltimore City in 2010. CityWide’s mission is to provide relief for the poor, distress and underprivileged, through providing entrepreneurship education, enterprise development and vocational skill training programs. The organization’s objective is to provide, charity through trade for economic development and economic empowerment. CityWide has established four small business ventures, created dozens of jobs for Baltimore City’s youth, and empowered dozens of youth with viable workforce skills.

He is also the owner of Frozen Desert Sorbet, a creation of City Wide Youth Development, which offers endless irresistible flavors and sorbet creations including sundaes, paletas, sorbet taco, shakes, and sandwiches at the World Famous Lexington Market in downtown Baltimore. This spring/summer Frozen Desert Sorbet, launched 20 youth run micro entrepreneurs’ mobile carts. Rasheed uses the mobile carts as training for entrepreneurship – customer service, product development and sale skills.

Other honorees include:

Latausha Washington
Malacka Reed
Mt. Lebanon Federal Credit Union
Jane Velasquez
Paul Taylor
Nakia Zaahir
Marcus Stephens
Demian Costa
Michael Middleton
Quintin Lathan
N. Scott Phillips, Esquire
Coach William Neal
Dottery Washington
Carlos McEachern, Sr.
Choo Smith
Moe Tillman
Marvin McDowell, Sr.
Greg Schroeder and
Pless Jones