The Glover Report: President Obama Recognizes Nation’s Leading Scientists, Innovators: National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation


Congratulations to the Nation’s Brightest Scientists and Innovators for 2016

By Doni Glover, Publisher

(WHITE HOUSE – May 19, 2016) – Admittedly, there is a geek inside of me. I won’t say it is my passion, but my dad taught me early on that we have to be computer-literate, that we have to adapt to the changing times, and also how important it is to be able to see what’s coming around the corner. My dad was a visionary and, even late in life, learned to embrace what John Naisbitt wrote about years ago in his texts MegaTrends and MegaTrends 2000. It was Professor Ronn Nichols at Coppin State who would help me along the part of the journey where I would see media meet technology.

Long story short, today’s visit to cover some of the nation’s leading thinkers was truly an honor. I have always been taught that we must rub elbows with greatness. I am so reminded of how important such scientists and innovators are to our way of life.

Further, as the Publisher of, I have a ton of interest in those things that affect my business. So, it is only common sense that I have a viable interest in what the best and brightest minds are doing.

While waiting for the President, I had an opportunity to chat with a woman scientist with some stellar academic credentials, including Cambridge and Stanford. I was reminded of how much we need people in the “geek” world. When we think of cybersecurity, life on another planet, the scarcity of food and water, the future of energy – all of these things fall on somebody’s plate.

In the room today were those giants – those people who are following their passions – which so happen to be in the realms of science and technology.

The honorees were white, black and Asian. They were male and female. IMG_7934

I think what was most inspiring were some of the cheers from the audience. These men and women were truly celebrated, and to say the least, I was inspired to do more, to be more “scientific” in my approach, and to just go for it.

Life has a way of beating us down; I think it happens to everyone. However, this day is a reminder that dreams do come true if we just work smart … with a clear vision … and most of all, with a driving passion.

Heck, even the President admitted how much he enjoys trying out new gadgets. Truthfully, I think our young people can find a lot of nuggets in that. Also, he spoke of how he has formed a youth advisory committee for science and technology.

The official version:
Today, the White House announced the latest recipients of the National Medal of Science and National Medal of Technology and Innovation—our Nation’s highest honors for achievement and leadership in advancing the fields of science and technology. The new awardees will receive their medals at a White House ceremony early next year.

“Science and technology are fundamental to solving some of our Nation’s biggest challenges,” President Obama said. “The knowledge produced by these Americans today will carry our country’s legacy of innovation forward and continue to help countless others around the world. Their work is a testament to American ingenuity.”

The National Medal of Science was created by statute in 1959 and is administered for the White House by the National Science Foundation. Awarded annually, the Medal recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to science and engineering. The President receives nominations from a committee of Presidential appointees based on their extraordinary knowledge in and contributions to chemistry, engineering, computing, mathematics, and the biological, behavioral/social, and physical sciences.

The National Medal of Technology and Innovation was created by statute in 1980 and is administered for the White House by the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Patent and Trademark Office. The award recognizes those who have made lasting contributions to America’s competitiveness and quality of life and helped strengthen the Nation’s technological workforce. A distinguished independent committee representing the private and public sectors submits recommendations to the President.

The new recipients are listed below.

National Medal of Science

  • Dr. Armand Paul Alivisatos, University of California and Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, CA
  • Dr. Michael Artin, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, MA
  • Dr. Albert Bandura, Stanford University, CA
  • Dr. Stanley Falkow, Stanford University School of Medicine, CA
  • Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY
  • Dr. Rakesh K. Jain, Harvard Medical School and Massachusetts General Hospital, MA
  • Dr. Mary-Claire King, University of Washington, WA
  • Dr. Simon Levin, Princeton University, NJ
  • Dr. Geraldine Richmond, University of Oregon, OR

National Medal of Technology and Innovation

  • Dr. Joseph DeSimone, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, North Carolina State University, and Carbon3D, CA
  • Dr. Robert Fischell, University of Maryland at College Park, MD
  • Dr. Arthur Gossard, University of California, Santa Barbara, CA
  • Dr. Nancy Ho, Green Tech America, Inc. and Purdue University, IN
  • Dr. Chenming Hu, University of California, Berkeley, CA
  • Dr. Mark Humayun, University of Southern California, CA
  • Dr. Cato T. Laurencin, University of Connecticut, CT
  • Dr. Jonathan Rothberg, 4catalyzer Corporation and Yale School of Medicine, CT